Opposition to Household Charge to be highlighted at Leinster House

Nine TDs, including one from Tipperary, will ramp up their anti household charge campaign today – by holding a press conference outside Leinster House.

South Tipp Deputy Seamus Healy will be joined by Thomas Pringle, Clare Daly, Luke Flanagan, Joe Higgins, Joan Collins, John Halligan, Richard Boyd Barrett and Mick Wallace in calling on the 1.6 million householders who by law must pay the tax – to boycott it.

So far, approximately 15 per cent of those liable for the charge have registered to pay it.