John Devane is new Chairman of the Tipperary County Board

John Devane is the new chairperson of the Tipperary county board while Moyne Templetuohys Joe Kennedy is the new vice chairperson.

JK Bracken’s John Costigan becomes the new Vice President of the board and Michael Bourke becomes the new central council representative.

In the Dome in Thurles last night there was 225 votes counted for the position of vice chairperson in a contest between Joe Kennedy and Jimmy Minogue of Nenagh Eire Og with the former Mid Tipp chairman Kennedy winning by just 3 votes, 114 to 111.

Earlier in the evening treasurer Michael Power told delegates that there was a net surplus of over 160 thousand euro for the county board, a big increase on 74 thousand for 2016 while club gate receipts in the county were up 21%.

After the convention new county board chair John Devane told Tipp FM Sport he was delighted to be the first Boherlahan club member to hold the office since the legendary Johnny Leahy in 1927