Last of Tipperary Senior Hurling Championship decided

Photo © Tipp FM

Last night saw Borrisoleigh beat Upperchurch Drombane by 1-20 to 2-10 while Toomevara were 3-19 to 1-15 winners over Burgess.

That means that Kiladangan, Clonoulty-Rossmore, Thurles Sarsfields and Borrisoleigh emerge as group winners, with Drom-Inch, Nenagh, Loughmore-Castleiney and Toomevara joining them in the last eight.

Loughmore overcame Kilruane by two points in Thurles yesterday, with two goals from veteran Evan Sweeney.

Manager Frankie McGrath has been reflecting on his influence.

“Evan has been a class player for years – I think 2000 was probably the first year. He started as a goalkeeper for us.”

“He’s like all our players – they love coming into the stadium and when you come in here I encourage lads to bring their ‘A’ game and Evan brought his ‘A’ game today.”

In the O’Riain Cup, the group winners are Carrick Swans, Thurles Sarsfields, Newport and Templederry.

They’ll be joined in the last eight by Killenaule, Lorrha, Mullinahone and Silvermines.

In last night’s action Newport beat Sean Treacys 2-15 to 1-14 while Mullinahone were 2-17 to 13 point winners over Clonakenny.