Four proposals to change Senior Hurling Championship structure

Photo © Tipp FM

Tipperary GAA delegates travel to Croke Park tomorrow for Special Congress, where proposed changes to the Senior Hurling Championship structure will be debated.

The Ard Comhairle’s motion would see a round robin system in both Munster and Leinster – with the top two teams contesting the Provincial Finals.

The winners go into the All Ireland semi final, with the runners up and third place teams qualifying for the Quarter Finals.

Cork are proposing to retain the provincial championships in their current format, but following the Round 1 qualifier, the last 8 teams in the All Ireland series participate in a round robin – similar to the football championship.

Dublin’s proposal is similar to the status quo – they wish to amend the current All Ireland qualifier series to allow the four winners from the Round Robin to progress to the All Ireland Quarter Finals where they’ll meet the four provincial finalists.

County Board Secretary Tim Floyd explains Tipperary’s proposal…