Wins for Dublin and Tyrone in weekend football action

Dublin have won a record seventh Leinster football title in a row with a 2-23 to 1-17 win over Kildare at Croke Park this afternoon.

Two goals inside the first eleven minutes from Dean Rock and James McCarthy opened up an early gap between the two sides.

While Kildare rallied to trail by just four points at the break, Dublin coasted away to victory in the second half. Full forward Con O’Callaghan hit ten points in total.

Earlier on, Tyrone are Ulster football champions for the fifteenth time after their commanding 2-17 to 0-15 victory over Down in Clones this afternoon.

Two second half goals from substitute Ronan O’Neill ensured that Mickey Harte’s men cruised to victory.